Pre-Flight Jitters

I went through a mild panic attack when you all of a sudden discover four years wasn’t long enough to figure out your life plan. You millennials know what I’m talking about. It’s that baby quarter life crisis any run-of-the-mill overachiever acquires when confronted with entering “the real world”. I wish I could spare you some heartache and tell you that I figured it all out. But I didn’t. And you know what, that’s okay!

What I did learn in college was what I am interested in. There were many, but somehow French just caught on. I kept accidentally taking classes until, poof, one day it was a major. The other was an avid desire to help people and give back. These two things, combined with a love of international travel, prompted me to apply to teach in France for a year as an elementary teacher. Who knew I’d be here? If you had said this to me two years ago I never would have believed you. But I’m so excited to teach some six to ten year olds I can’t even wait. I’ll be living with a local family and their two kids in the heart of Marseille, right off the Mediterranean coast.

People often ask me, are you excited?? Heck yes, I’m excited.. but also nervous! Basically, I’m excitervous….. If this was an old AIM conversation where you set your emotion, that’s what I’d be listed as with a corresponding emoji. I’m excitervous and anxious and pumped and a whole slew of other emotions all wrapped up into one emotional burrito. And that’s the best part.

This blog was started as a way to connect with family and friends as I move abroad. Hopefully I communicate some of this experience well enough that you kind of feel like you’re on the journey with me. Thanks for all the love, prayers and support along the way.

Image

6 thoughts on “Pre-Flight Jitters

  1. Monique, many of us who have lived decades longer than you have still not figured life out…but that’s the fun of it, right! How dull would things be if we knew what was around every curve 🙂 I can comfortably say that you’ve taken the meaning of “over-achiever” to a new level and I’m thrilled to read about all you will experience and accomplish. A year from now you’ll look back on these pre-flight jitters and realize that they were just another ramp along your road to greatness. I’m so proud of you and I’m inspired by you! Go get ’em!

    P.S. LOVE your blog title!!

  2. Monique this is Earline’s friend Jacqui. I am so excited for you! Awesome. I enjoyed your blog. My daughter is studying to be a teacher at UofI. You are an inspiration

Leave a Reply

